Published prices
Under the SRA Transparency Rules, firms offering residential conveyancing, probate and certain other services must publish their prices for that work. Crompton Halliwell publishes these 14 prices on its own website. The figures below are copied as the firm prints them. For your own matter, ask the firm for a written quote that includes disbursements.
What the firm offers:WillsProbatePowers of attorneyTrustsEmployment lawConveyancingAs listed on the firm's own website, read 7 October 2026. The areas of law further down are what it reported to the SRA.
| Service | Price | VAT |
|---|---|---|
| Wills - basic will (individual) | from £150 | + VAT |
| Wills - mirror will (couple, same content) | from £200 | + VAT |
| Wills - trust will (to protect assets for future beneficiaries) | from £400 | + VAT |
| Wills - changes to a basic will | from £75 | + VAT |
| Wills - changes to a mirror will | from £100 | + VAT |
| Probate - grant only (simple estate legal fees) | £750 | + VAT |
| Probate - simple estate: a bank account and a property (legal fees) | from £1,000.00 | + VAT |
| Probate - estate with multiple bank accounts, shares and properties (legal fees) | from £1,500.00 | VAT not stated |
| Probate - complex estate: inheritance tax, multiple bank accounts or the firm named as executor (legal fees) | £225.00 per hour | VAT not stated |
| Lasting power of attorney - individual, either health or finance | £360 | + VAT |
| Lasting power of attorney - individual, both health and finance | £500 | + VAT |
| Lasting power of attorney - couple, either health or finance | £600 | + VAT |
| Lasting power of attorney - couple, both health and finance | £1000 | + VAT |
| Trusts - family life interest trust | from £850 | + VAT |
From the firm's published price information at www.cromptonhalliwell.co.uk/services/probate, read 7 October 2026.
Key facts
- Authorisation
- Recognised body
- Organisation type
- Recognised body, authorised
- Constitution
- Partnership
- Practising offices
- 2 (1 branch)
- Branch towns
- Bury
- Areas of law reported to the SRA
- 4: Residential property, Wills and trusts, Probate, Employment
- SRA firms in Bury
- 54 (23 residential property)
Offices on the SRA record
| Office | Address | District | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|
| Head office | 4-6 St. Marys Place, Bury, BL9 0EADirectionsGoogle MapsApple Maps | Bury | 0161 797 9222 |
| Branch | 28 Bolton Road West, Ramsbottom, Bury, BL0 9NDDirectionsGoogle MapsApple Maps | Bury | 0161 797 9222 |
Areas of law reported to the SRA
Self-reported by the firm in its most recent annual return to the SRA ("the areas of law that the law firm has told us they delivered"). A lagging description of past work, not a live service list, a specialism claim or a quality mark; it may be up to a year old and is blank for newly authorised firms.
Because Crompton Halliwell reports residential property work, it must publish its conveyancing price, charging basis, disbursements, VAT treatment and timescales on its website. The prices shown above, read 7 October 2026 from the firm's website, are for other services and do not include conveyancing. For conveyancing, ask the firm for a written quote. Compare against the national average of £1,575 plus VAT and the disbursements you will pay on top.
The SRA records the firm's constitution as partnership, a structure with no Companies House registration, so there is no company record to cross-reference; the SRA authorisation record is the only public register entry for the firm.
Crompton Halliwell in gold at Bury BL9 0EA, its 1 other practising office in navy, and the 5 nearest SRA-regulated firms in slate.
Outline: Bury district outline (ONS E08000002).
Map tiles: OpenFreeMap, © OpenMapTiles, data from OpenStreetMap contributors. Source: Office for National Statistics licensed under the Open Government Licence v.3.0. Contains OS data © Crown copyright and database right 2026.
Nearest SRA-regulated firms
- Clough & Willis · Bury · residential propertysame postcode
- Ten Legal Associates Limited · Bury · residential property100 m
- GLP Solicitors · Bury100 m
- GLP (Bury) LLP · Bury100 m
- Butcher and Barlow LLP · Bury · residential property100 m
Hover a firm to find it on the map above. Distances are straight line from head office to head office.
solicitorcost.com includes data supplied by the Solicitors Regulation Authority.
Source: SRA Firm data web service (terms 1 July 2020, attribution required); firm status, offices and areas of law as reported by the SRA on 6 October 2026. Areas of law are self-reported by each firm in its annual return and describe work it told the SRA it delivered, not a live service menu or a quality mark. Companies House fields from the Basic Company Data bulk file dated 1 May 2026. Geocoding by postcodes.io: contains OS data (c) Crown copyright and database right 2026, Royal Mail data (c) Royal Mail copyright and database right 2026, National Statistics data (c) Crown copyright and database right 2026. No firm on this site is sponsored, ranked or endorsed, and nothing here implies SRA endorsement of this site.