Published prices
Under the SRA Transparency Rules, firms offering residential conveyancing, probate and certain other services must publish their prices for that work. Alun Thomas & John publishes these 11 prices on its own website. The figures below are copied as the firm prints them. For your own matter, ask the firm for a written quote that includes disbursements.
What the firm offers:Buying a propertySelling a propertyCommercial property and developmentFamily lawWills, inheritance planning and estate administrationLasting powers of attorneyDispute resolution and debt recoveryLandlord and tenantCorporateAs listed on the firm's own website, read 7 October 2026. The areas of law further down are what it reported to the SRA.
| Band | Fee | VAT |
|---|---|---|
| 0-50,000 | £800.00 | VAT not stated |
| 50,001-100,000.00 | £850.00 | VAT not stated |
| 100,001 -120,000 | £950.00 | VAT not stated |
| 120,000 – 150,000 | £1,000.00 | VAT not stated |
| 150,001 -200,000 | £1,000.00 | VAT not stated |
| 200,001 – 250,000 | £1,250.00 | VAT not stated |
| 250,000 -300,000 | £1,300.00 | VAT not stated |
| 300,001 -350,000 | £1,450.00 | VAT not stated |
| 350,001 – 400,000 | £1,450.00 | VAT not stated |
| 400,001 -450,000 | £1,500.00 | VAT not stated |
| 450,001 -500,000 | £1,600.00 | VAT not stated |
| 500,001 -650,000 | £1,700.00 | VAT not stated |
| 650,001 – 800,000 | £1,800.00 | VAT not stated |
| 800,001 – 1,000,000 | £2,000.00 | VAT not stated |
| 1,000,001 -1,500,000 | £2,500.00 | VAT not stated |
| Band | Fee | VAT |
|---|---|---|
| 0-50,000 | £675.00 | VAT not stated |
| 50,001 – 100,000 | £775.00 | VAT not stated |
| 100,001 – 120,000 | £825.00 | VAT not stated |
| 120,000 – 150,000 | £875.00 | VAT not stated |
| 200,001 – 250,000 | £1,000.00 | VAT not stated |
| 250,000 -300,000 | £1,250.00 | VAT not stated |
| 300,001 – 350,000 | £1,300.00 | VAT not stated |
| 350,001 – 400,000 | £1,400.00 | VAT not stated |
| 400,001 – 450,000 | £1,400.00 | VAT not stated |
| 450,001 – 500,000 | £1,500.00 | VAT not stated |
| 500,001 – 650,000 | £1,700.00 | VAT not stated |
| 650,001 – 750,000 | £1,800.00 | VAT not stated |
| 750,001 – 1,000,000 | £2,000.00 | VAT not stated |
| 1,000,001 – 1,500,000 | £2,500.00 | VAT not stated |
| Band | Fee | VAT |
|---|---|---|
| Up to £100,000 | £500.00 | VAT not stated |
| 100,001 – 300,000 | £775.00 | VAT not stated |
| 300,001 – 400,000 | £850.00 | VAT not stated |
| 400,001 – 500,000 | £975.00 | VAT not stated |
| Service | Price | VAT |
|---|---|---|
| Conveyancing - additional fee when a mortgage is involved[1] | £250.00 | VAT not stated |
| Conveyancing - additional fee for the Help to Buy scheme (not ISA)[1] | £300.00 | VAT not stated |
| Conveyancing - additional fee for a Help to Buy ISA bonus application[1] | £50.00 | VAT not stated |
| Conveyancing - additional fee for a new build[1] | £425.00 | VAT not stated |
| Conveyancing - additional fee for a leasehold property[1] | £300.00 | VAT not stated |
| Estate administration - value element, home owned by the deceased alone[2] | 0.75% of the value of the home | VAT not stated |
| Estate administration - value element, home owned jointly[2] | 0.5% of the value of the home | VAT not stated |
| Estate administration - value element, rest of the estate up to £1 million[2] | 1.0% | VAT not stated |
From the firm's published price information at these pages, read 7 October 2026:
Key facts
- Authorisation
- Recognised body
- Organisation type
- Recognised body, authorised
- Constitution
- Partnership
- Practising offices
- 1
- Areas of law reported to the SRA
- 11: Residential property, Probate, Non-litigation, Commercial property, Wills and trusts, Litigation, Employment, Landlord and tenant, Corporate (non-listed), Children, Family
- SRA firms in Ceredigion
- 20 (20 residential property)
Offices on the SRA record
| Office | Address | District | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|
| Head office | Crynfryn, 17 Eastgate, Aberystwyth, SY23 2ARDirectionsGoogle MapsApple Maps | Ceredigion | 01970 615900 |
Areas of law reported to the SRA
Self-reported by the firm in its most recent annual return to the SRA ("the areas of law that the law firm has told us they delivered"). A lagging description of past work, not a live service list, a specialism claim or a quality mark; it may be up to a year old and is blank for newly authorised firms.
Because Alun Thomas & John reports residential property work, it must publish its conveyancing price, charging basis, disbursements, VAT treatment and timescales on its website. This firm's published conveyancing prices are shown above, read 7 October 2026 from its website. Check the firm's own page at atj.co.uk for any update before instructing it. Compare against the national average of £1,575 plus VAT and the disbursements you will pay on top.
The SRA records the firm's constitution as partnership, a structure with no Companies House registration, so there is no company record to cross-reference; the SRA authorisation record is the only public register entry for the firm.
Alun Thomas & John in gold at Aberystwyth SY23 2AR, and the 5 nearest SRA-regulated firms in slate.
Outline: Ceredigion district outline (ONS W06000008).
Map tiles: OpenFreeMap, © OpenMapTiles, data from OpenStreetMap contributors. Source: Office for National Statistics licensed under the Open Government Licence v.3.0. Contains OS data © Crown copyright and database right 2026.
Nearest SRA-regulated firms
- Powell Davies Solicitors Limited · Aberystwyth · residential propertysame postcode
- Cyfraith Ceredigion CYF · Aberystwyth · residential propertysame postcode
- Humphrey Roberts & Bott CYF · Aberystwyth · residential property100 m
- Godwins · Aberystwyth · residential property200 m
- Morris and Bates Limited · Aberystwyth · residential property300 m
Hover a firm to find it on the map above. Distances are straight line from head office to head office.
solicitorcost.com includes data supplied by the Solicitors Regulation Authority.
Source: SRA Firm data web service (terms 1 July 2020, attribution required); firm status, offices and areas of law as reported by the SRA on 6 October 2026. Areas of law are self-reported by each firm in its annual return and describe work it told the SRA it delivered, not a live service menu or a quality mark. Companies House fields from the Basic Company Data bulk file dated 1 May 2026. Geocoding by postcodes.io: contains OS data (c) Crown copyright and database right 2026, Royal Mail data (c) Royal Mail copyright and database right 2026, National Statistics data (c) Crown copyright and database right 2026. No firm on this site is sponsored, ranked or endorsed, and nothing here implies SRA endorsement of this site.