Published prices
Under the SRA Transparency Rules, firms offering residential conveyancing, probate and certain other services must publish their prices for that work. Howard and Over LLP publishes these 19 prices on its own website. The figures below are copied as the firm prints them. For your own matter, ask the firm for a written quote that includes disbursements.
What the firm offers:Residential propertyWills, probate, lasting powers of attorney and estate planningPersonal injuryDispute resolution and litigationCommercial propertyBusiness and agricultureAs listed on the firm's own website, read 7 October 2026. The areas of law further down are what it reported to the SRA.
| Band | Fee | VAT |
|---|---|---|
| £0.00 - £125,000.00 | £1,050.00 | + VAT |
| £125,001.00 - £200,000.00 | £1,100.00 | + VAT |
| £201,000.00 - £250,000.00 | £1,200.00 | + VAT |
| £250,001.00 - £350,000.00 | £1,300.00 | + VAT |
| £350,001.00 - £500,000.00 | £1,400.00 | + VAT |
| £500,001.00 - £650,000.00 | £1,700.00 | + VAT |
| £650,001.00 - £800,000.00 | £2,000.00 | + VAT |
| £800,001.00 + | POA | + VAT |
| Band | Fee | VAT |
|---|---|---|
| £0.00 - £125,000.00 | £1,100.00 | + VAT |
| £125,001.00 - £200,000.00 | £1,150.00 | + VAT |
| £201,000.00 - £250,000.00 | £1,250.00 | + VAT |
| £250,001.00 - £350,000.00 | £1,350.00 | + VAT |
| £350,001.00 - £500,000.00 | £1,500.00 | + VAT |
| £500,001.00 - £650,000.00 | £1,950.00 | + VAT |
| £650,001.00 - £800,000.00 | £2,100.00 | + VAT |
| £800,001.00 + | POA | + VAT |
| Band | Fee | VAT |
|---|---|---|
| £0 - £100,000.00 | £1,350.00 | + VAT |
| £100,000.00 - £200,000.00 | £1,450.00 | + VAT |
| £200,000.00 – £300,000.00 | £1,550.00 | + VAT |
| £300,000.00 - £400,000.00 | £1,650.00 | + VAT |
| £400,001.00 - £500,000.00 | £1,900.00 | + VAT |
| £500,001.00 + | POA | + VAT |
| Band | Fee | VAT |
|---|---|---|
| £0 - £100,000.00 | £1,400.00 | + VAT |
| £100,000.00 - £200,000.00 | £1,500.00 | + VAT |
| £200,000.00 – £300,000.00 | £1,700.00 | + VAT |
| £300,000.00 - £400,000.00 | £1,850.00 | + VAT |
| £400,001.00 - £500,000.00 | £2,150.00 | + VAT |
| £500,001.00 + | POA | + VAT |
| Band | Fee | VAT |
|---|---|---|
| £0 - £150,000 | £995.00 | VAT not stated |
| £150,001 - £250,000 | £1,045.00 | VAT not stated |
| Over £250,001 | POA | VAT not stated |
| Band | Fee | VAT |
|---|---|---|
| Up to £50,000 | £895.00 | VAT not stated |
| £50,001 - £100,000 | £995.00 | VAT not stated |
| Service | Price | VAT |
|---|---|---|
| Transfer of equity and re-mortgage together, any value[1] | £1,100.00 | VAT not stated |
| Probate - fixed fee grant only, no inheritance tax and no IHT400[1] | £1,250 | + VAT |
| Probate - fixed fee grant only, no inheritance tax but IHT400 required[1] | £1,750 | + VAT |
| Probate - fixed fee grant only, inheritance tax payable[1] | £2,500 | + VAT |
| Probate - full estate administration (simple estate, no inheritance tax)[1] | £1,500 to £2,500 | + VAT |
| Hourly rate - Partners and solicitors (8+ years PQE)[1] | £300.00 per hour | + VAT |
| Hourly rate - Solicitors (4-7 years PQE)[1] | £250.00 per hour | + VAT |
| Hourly rate - Solicitors (under 4 years PQE) and legal executives[1] | £200.00 per hour | + VAT |
| Hourly rate - Trainee solicitors and other fee earners[1] | £150.00 per hour | + VAT |
| Additional fee - help to buy equity loan[1] | £150.00 | VAT not stated |
| Additional fee - help to buy ISA[1] | £50.00 | VAT not stated |
| Additional fee - electronic client onboarding and ID verification, per name[1] | £14.40 | inc VAT |
| Wills - basic will with home visit (Newton Abbot area, 2026)[2] | £295 | + VAT |
Some figures on the firm's page do not agree with each other; the table follows the page as printed.
From the firm's published price information at these pages, read 7 October 2026:
Key facts
- Authorisation
- Recognised body
- Organisation type
- Recognised body, authorised
- Constitution
- Limited liability partnership
- Practising offices
- 3 (2 branches)
- Branch towns
- Ivybridge, Newton Abbot
- Areas of law reported to the SRA
- 5: Litigation, Corporate (listed), Probate, Wills and trusts, Residential property
- Published conveyancing prices
- Prices publishedfee table howard-over.co.uk found 28 August 2026
- Companies House status
- Active (OC361850, file 1 May 2026)
- Incorporated
- 15 February 2011
- Company type
- Limited Liability Partnership
- Trading names
- Howard & Over; Howard & Over Solicitors
- SRA firms in Plymouth
- 39 (19 residential property)
Offices on the SRA record
| Office | Address | District | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|
| Head office | Plym House, 3 Longbridge Road, Marsh Mills, Plymouth, PL6 8LTDirectionsGoogle MapsApple Maps | Plymouth | 01752 556606 |
| Branch | 8 & 9 Glanvilles Mill, Ivybridge, PL21 9PSDirectionsGoogle MapsApple Maps | South Hams | 01752 690123 |
| Branch | 34 Devon Square, Newton Abbot, TQ12 2HHDirectionsGoogle MapsApple Maps | Teignbridge | 01626 241097 |
Areas of law reported to the SRA
Self-reported by the firm in its most recent annual return to the SRA ("the areas of law that the law firm has told us they delivered"). A lagging description of past work, not a live service list, a specialism claim or a quality mark; it may be up to a year old and is blank for newly authorised firms.
Because Howard and Over LLP reports residential property work, it must publish its conveyancing price, charging basis, disbursements, VAT treatment and timescales on its website. The prices shown above, read 7 October 2026 from the firm's website, are for other services and do not include conveyancing. Its conveyancing price page is at howard-over.co.uk (located 28 August 2026, with a fee table). Compare against the verified Plymouth band of £650 to £1,550 plus VAT and the disbursements you will pay on top.
Companies House record
HOWARD AND OVER LLP, company number OC361850, limited liability partnership, incorporated 15 February 2011. Status on the Companies House bulk file dated 1 May 2026: Active. Last accounts made up to 31 March 2025 (total exemption full). Registered office town: PLYMOUTH. Full record on ukcompanyfinder.com.
Howard and Over LLP in gold at Plymouth PL6 8LT, its 2 other practising offices in navy, and the 5 nearest SRA-regulated firms in slate.
Outline: no outline drawn; fitted to the plotted offices.
Map tiles: OpenFreeMap, © OpenMapTiles, data from OpenStreetMap contributors.
Nearest SRA-regulated firms
- Enigma Solicitors · Plymouth2.8 km
- White Jackman Limited · Plymouth3.3 km
- Citadel Solicitors & Advocates · Plymouth3.3 km
- Marshalls · Plymouth · residential property3.8 km
- Curtis Law LLP · Plymouth · residential property3.8 km
Hover a firm to find it on the map above. Distances are straight line from head office to head office.
solicitorcost.com includes data supplied by the Solicitors Regulation Authority.
Source: SRA Firm data web service (terms 1 July 2020, attribution required); firm status, offices and areas of law as reported by the SRA on 6 October 2026. Areas of law are self-reported by each firm in its annual return and describe work it told the SRA it delivered, not a live service menu or a quality mark. Companies House fields from the Basic Company Data bulk file dated 1 May 2026. Geocoding by postcodes.io: contains OS data (c) Crown copyright and database right 2026, Royal Mail data (c) Royal Mail copyright and database right 2026, National Statistics data (c) Crown copyright and database right 2026. No firm on this site is sponsored, ranked or endorsed, and nothing here implies SRA endorsement of this site.