Published prices
Under the SRA Transparency Rules, firms offering residential conveyancing, probate and certain other services must publish their prices for that work. Granville-West Chivers & Morgan publishes these 36 prices on its own website. The figures below are copied as the firm prints them. For your own matter, ask the firm for a written quote that includes disbursements.
What the firm offers:PropertyFamilyProbate and estate administrationWills, lasting powers of attorney and Court of ProtectionPersonal injuryOther litigationAs listed on the firm's own website, read 7 October 2026. The areas of law further down are what it reported to the SRA.
| Band | Fee | VAT |
|---|---|---|
| Up to – £149,999 | £1050.00 | + VAT |
| £150,000 – £249,999 | £1100.00 | + VAT |
| £250,000 – £349,999 | £1200.00 | + VAT |
| £350,000 – £424,999 | £1325.00 | + VAT |
| £425,000 – £499,999 | £1470.00 | + VAT |
| From £500,000 upwards | Individual prices available on request | + VAT |
| Band | Fee | VAT |
|---|---|---|
| Up to – £149,999 | £980.00 | + VAT |
| £150,000 – £249,999 | £1050.00 | + VAT |
| £250,000 – £349,999 | £1150.00 | + VAT |
| £350,000 – £424,999 | £1200.00 | + VAT |
| £425,000- £499,999 | £1275.00 | + VAT |
| From £500,000 upwards | Individual prices available on request | + VAT |
| Band | Fee | VAT |
|---|---|---|
| Up to – £149,999 | £960.00 | + VAT |
| £150,000 – £219,999 | £990.00 | + VAT |
| £220,000 – £349,999 | £1050.00 | + VAT |
| £350,000 – £424,999 | £1140.00 | + VAT |
| £425,000 – £499,999 | £1250.00 | + VAT |
| From £500,000 upwards | Individual prices available on request | + VAT |
| Service | Price | VAT |
|---|---|---|
| Re-mortgage - additional fee where the property is leasehold[3] | £250 to £400 | + VAT |
| Purchase - additional fee if the property is leasehold[1] | £250 to £400 | VAT not stated |
| Purchase - additional fee if the property has an unregistered title[1] | £250 to £400 | VAT not stated |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Declaration of Trust[1] | £650 to £850 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Statutory Declaration[1] | £250 to £600 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Corresponding with a third party eg matrimonial matters and management companies[1] | £175 to £525 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Appointment of a Second Trustee[1] | £150 to £250 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Each Additional Land Registry title[1] | £150 to £300 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Gifted deposits/third party payment of deposits[1] | £200 to £350 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Negative Equity[1] | £350 to £750 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Help to Buy ISA[1] | £50 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Dealing with retentions (other than service charge retentions on leasehold flats)[1] | £250 to £800 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Late Completions after contractual completion[1] | £250 to £800 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Obtaining regulatory documents[1] | £50 to £150 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - New Builds and properties less than 10 years old[1] | £300 to £550 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Conservatory Questionnaire[1] | £125 to £200 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Solar Panel Questionnaire Owned[1] | £100 to £300 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Application for first registration (independent of a purchase)[1] | £520 to £790 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Land Registry removal of a restriction[1] | £150 to £550 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Third Party Consents[1] | £150 to £300 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Report to Lender other than certificate of title[1] | £100 to £300 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Each additional Mortgage or Charge[1] | £150 to £450 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Leasehold Notice[1] | £50 to £100 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Deed of Covenant compliance[1] | £150 to £300 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - LMS Portal Admin fee[1] | £35 | + VAT |
| Additional conveyancing fee - Solar Panel Questionnaire - Leased[1] | £250 to £600 | + VAT |
| Probate - legal fees to obtain a grant of representation only, straightforward cases[4] | £975 to £1,600 | + VAT |
| Probate - intestacy, application on behalf of a spouse or only child[4] | £975 to £1,600 | + VAT |
| Probate - intestacy, application on behalf of any other relative[4] | £1,800 | + VAT |
| Probate - full estate administration, estate valued below the nil-rate band (estimated cost)[4] | £2,500.00 to £6,000.00 | + VAT |
| Probate - full estate administration, estate over the nil-rate band (guidance range)[4] | £4,000 to £10,000 | + VAT |
| Probate - hourly rate, partner, solicitor or legal executive[4] | Partner/Solicitor £288 / Partner/Legal Executive £288 / Solicitor £288 / Chartered Legal Executive £196 per hour | + VAT |
| Probate - hourly rate, chartered legal executive[4] | £196 per hour | + VAT |
From the firm's published price information at these pages, read 7 October 2026:
Key facts
- Authorisation
- Recognised body
- Organisation type
- Recognised body, authorised
- Constitution
- Partnership
- Practising offices
- 4 (3 branches)
- Branch towns
- Blackwood, Risca, Abertillery
- Areas of law reported to the SRA
- 8: Personal Injury, Residential property, Family, Employment, Litigation, Commercial property, Wills and trusts, Probate
- SRA firms in Caerphilly
- 24 (14 residential property)
Offices on the SRA record
| Office | Address | District | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|
| Head office | Somerset Chambers, 1 Tynewydd Terrace, Newbridge, NP11 4LSDirectionsGoogle MapsApple Maps | Caerphilly | 01495 243268 |
| Branch | PO Box 1, 182 High Street, Blackwood, NP12 1YBDirectionsGoogle MapsApple Maps | Caerphilly | 01495 223161 |
| Branch | 50-51 Tredegar Street, Risca, NP11 6BWDirectionsGoogle MapsApple Maps | Caerphilly | 01633 612353 |
| Branch | 49 Church Street, Abertillery, NP13 1DBDirectionsGoogle MapsApple Maps | Blaenau Gwent | 01495 217070 |
Areas of law reported to the SRA
Self-reported by the firm in its most recent annual return to the SRA ("the areas of law that the law firm has told us they delivered"). A lagging description of past work, not a live service list, a specialism claim or a quality mark; it may be up to a year old and is blank for newly authorised firms.
Because Granville-West Chivers & Morgan reports residential property work, it must publish its conveyancing price, charging basis, disbursements, VAT treatment and timescales on its website. This firm's published conveyancing prices are shown above, read 7 October 2026 from its website. Check the firm's own page at granville-west.co.uk for any update before instructing it. Compare against the national average of £1,575 plus VAT and the disbursements you will pay on top.
The SRA records the firm's constitution as partnership, a structure with no Companies House registration, so there is no company record to cross-reference; the SRA authorisation record is the only public register entry for the firm.
Granville-West Chivers & Morgan in gold at Newbridge NP11 4LS, its 3 other practising offices in navy, and the 5 nearest SRA-regulated firms in slate.
Outline: Caerphilly district outline (ONS W06000018).
Map tiles: OpenFreeMap, © OpenMapTiles, data from OpenStreetMap contributors. Source: Office for National Statistics licensed under the Open Government Licence v.3.0. Contains OS data © Crown copyright and database right 2026.
Nearest SRA-regulated firms
- Michael Leighton Jones Solicitors · Bargoed · residential property6.4 km
- T S Edwards & Son · Hengoed · residential property6.8 km
- Owen & O'Sullivan · Hengoed · residential property6.8 km
- Helen Noakes Legal Services for Children · Ystrad Mynach7.4 km
- Lisa Davies Legal Services for Children · Hengoed7.4 km
Hover a firm to find it on the map above. Distances are straight line from head office to head office.
solicitorcost.com includes data supplied by the Solicitors Regulation Authority.
Source: SRA Firm data web service (terms 1 July 2020, attribution required); firm status, offices and areas of law as reported by the SRA on 6 October 2026. Areas of law are self-reported by each firm in its annual return and describe work it told the SRA it delivered, not a live service menu or a quality mark. Companies House fields from the Basic Company Data bulk file dated 1 May 2026. Geocoding by postcodes.io: contains OS data (c) Crown copyright and database right 2026, Royal Mail data (c) Royal Mail copyright and database right 2026, National Statistics data (c) Crown copyright and database right 2026. No firm on this site is sponsored, ranked or endorsed, and nothing here implies SRA endorsement of this site.