SolicitorCost.com is an independent information resource. We are not a law firm and do not provide legal advice. Costs shown are indicative ranges. Always obtain a written quote.
Home/SRA-regulated firms/Somerset/Taunton Solicitors

Recognised body

Taunton Solicitors

SRA number 495604 · Authorised since 1 November 2011

Head office 2 Tangier Central, Taunton, TA1 4AP

Website tauntonsolicitors.com · Phone 01823 351122 · Publishes prices: yes, read 7 October 2026

Published prices

Under the SRA Transparency Rules, firms offering residential conveyancing, probate and certain other services must publish their prices for that work. Taunton Solicitors publishes these 44 prices on its own website. The figures below are copied as the firm prints them. For your own matter, ask the firm for a written quote that includes disbursements.

What the firm offers:ConveyancingDispute resolutionFamily servicesProbate servicesWills and probateCommercial servicesAs listed on the firm's own website, read 7 October 2026. The areas of law further down are what it reported to the SRA.

ServicePriceVAT
Residential conveyancing - freehold sale at £295,000 - legal charges (worked example)[1]£1000.00+ VAT
Residential conveyancing - freehold purchase at £295,000 - legal charges (worked example)[1]£1050.00+ VAT
Re-mortgage of freehold at £295,000 - legal charges (worked example)[1]£550.00+ VAT
Conveyancing - ID verification fee (per person, sale example)[1]£12.50+ VAT
Conveyancing - bank verification check (sale example)[1]£15+ VAT
Will - single basic will[2]from £285+ VAT
Will - basic mirror wills[2]from £475+ VAT
Will - property trust will[2]£570+ VAT
Will - mirror property trust wills[2]£850+ VAT
Will - single codicil[2]£350.00+ VAT
Will - mirror codicil[2]£590.00+ VAT
Wills and trusts - case by case hourly rate[2]£350 per hour+ VAT
Lasting power of attorney - one LPA[2]from £395+ VAT
Lasting power of attorney - two LPAs[2]£625+ VAT
Lasting power of attorney - three LPAs[2]£1,020+ VAT
Lasting power of attorney - four LPAs[2]£1,250.00+ VAT
Enduring power of attorney - registration with the Office of the Public Guardian[2]£750.00+ VAT
Court of Protection deputyship - application, fixed fee[2]£950.00+ VAT
Court of Protection deputyship - trustee appointment[2]£500.00+ VAT
Probate - grant only, expected estate[2]from £1,450.00+ VAT
Probate - grant only, IHT 400 estate[2]from £2,200.00+ VAT
Probate - entire estate administration, average size estate (IHT 205 estimated)[2]from £3,500+ VAT
Probate - entire estate administration (IHT 400 estimated)[2]from £4,500+ VAT
Probate - typical cost of administering an estate, time-based[2]£4,500.00 to £10,000.00+ VAT
Probate - full estate administration for an average-sized estate (FAQ answer)[2]£3,500 to £10,000+ VAT
Estate property - deed of variation[2]£750.00 to £1,250.00+ VAT
Estate property - assent or transfer[2]from £550.00+ VAT
Property - severance of joint tenancy[2]from £350.00+ VAT
Divorce and child arrangements - fixed fee initial one hour consultation[3]£150+ VAT
Divorce - undefended, acting for the applicant, legal fees[3]£1050VAT not stated
Divorce - undefended, acting for the respondent, likely cost[3]£700VAT not stated
Financial settlement on divorce - agreement at an early stage with consent order, typical legal costs[3]average £1,250+ VAT
Financial settlement on divorce - agreement following negotiation between solicitors, typical costs[3]average £3,000+ VAT
Financial settlement on divorce - agreement at the financial dispute resolution hearing, typical costs[3]average £6,000+ VAT
Financial settlement on divorce - proceedings to a final hearing, typical costs[3]average £12,000+ VAT
Pre-nuptial, cohabitation, post-nuptial or separation agreement - drafting[3]average £1,000 to £1,850+ VAT
Pre-nuptial, cohabitation, post-nuptial or separation agreement - advising on an agreement drafted by another solicitor[3]average £550 to £1,750+ VAT
Child arrangements - proceedings that settle after the CAFCASS report, typical costs[3]average £3,500+ VAT
Child arrangements - proceedings that go to a final hearing, typical costs[3]average £10,000+ VAT
Dispute resolution - fixed fee advice, up to a 30 minute consultation[4]£175.00+ VAT
Landlord and tenant - recovery of possession, taking instructions and preparing and serving the notice[4]from £750+ VAT
Landlord and tenant - recovery of possession, preparing and issuing County Court proceedings and attending the first hearing[4]from £1,250.00+ VAT
Commercial property - typical hourly rate[5]£350 per hour+ VAT
Commercial property - acting for a tenant taking a new lease of business premises (example)[5]average £1,750+ VAT

Some figures on the firm's page do not agree with each other; the table follows the page as printed.

From the firm's published price information at these pages, read 7 October 2026:

  1. [1]tauntonsolicitors.com/conveyancing-costs
  2. [2]tauntonsolicitors.com/wills-and-probate-costs
  3. [3]tauntonsolicitors.com/family-services-costs
  4. [4]tauntonsolicitors.com/litigation-costs
  5. [5]tauntonsolicitors.com/commercial-property-costs

Key facts

Authorisation
Recognised body
Organisation type
Recognised body, authorised
Constitution
Partnership
Practising offices
1
Areas of law reported to the SRA
12: Corporate (non-listed), Employment, Corporate (listed), Non-litigation, Residential property, Family, Landlord and tenant, Children, Wills and trusts, Commercial property, Litigation, Probate
Previous names (SRA)
Bailhache Solicitors; Bailhache Shaw Marsden
SRA firms in Somerset
79 (44 residential property)

Offices on the SRA record

OfficeAddressDistrictPhone
Head office2 Tangier Central, Taunton, TA1 4APDirectionsGoogle MapsApple Mapsto the area centroid, not the doorSomerset01823 351122

Areas of law reported to the SRA

Corporate (non-listed)EmploymentCorporate (listed)Non-litigationResidential propertyFamilyLandlord and tenantChildrenWills and trustsCommercial propertyLitigationProbate

Self-reported by the firm in its most recent annual return to the SRA ("the areas of law that the law firm has told us they delivered"). A lagging description of past work, not a live service list, a specialism claim or a quality mark; it may be up to a year old and is blank for newly authorised firms.

Conveyancing prices: published by the firm under SRA Transparency Rule 1

Because Taunton Solicitors reports residential property work, it must publish its conveyancing price, charging basis, disbursements, VAT treatment and timescales on its website. This firm's published conveyancing prices are shown above, read 7 October 2026 from its website. Check the firm's own page at tauntonsolicitors.com for any update before instructing it. Compare against the national average of £1,575 plus VAT and the disbursements you will pay on top.

The SRA records the firm's constitution as partnership, a structure with no Companies House registration, so there is no company record to cross-reference; the SRA authorisation record is the only public register entry for the firm.

Where the office is
Locator map showing Taunton Solicitors at 2 Tangier Central, Taunton, TA1 4AP and 5 nearby SRA-regulated officesBannisters Criminal and Motoring Lawyers LLP, TauntonBoyce & Co Criminal and Motoring Solicitors, TauntonOerton Simm, TauntonHarris Fowler Limited, TauntonTaunton Solicitors, Taunton

Taunton Solicitors in gold at Taunton TA1 4AP, and the 5 nearest SRA-regulated firms in slate.

Outline: Somerset district outline (ONS E06000066).

Map tiles: OpenFreeMap, © OpenMapTiles, data from OpenStreetMap contributors. Source: Office for National Statistics licensed under the Open Government Licence v.3.0. Contains OS data © Crown copyright and database right 2026.

Nearest SRA-regulated firms

Hover a firm to find it on the map above. Distances are straight line from head office to head office.

Verify on the SRA register ->Verify your listingFirms: email us corrections and we update the page from the SRA record and your own site.
All firms in SomersetSRA-regulated firms by townTransparency Rules explained

solicitorcost.com includes data supplied by the Solicitors Regulation Authority.

Source: SRA Firm data web service (terms 1 July 2020, attribution required); firm status, offices and areas of law as reported by the SRA on 6 October 2026. Areas of law are self-reported by each firm in its annual return and describe work it told the SRA it delivered, not a live service menu or a quality mark. Companies House fields from the Basic Company Data bulk file dated 1 May 2026. Geocoding by postcodes.io: contains OS data (c) Crown copyright and database right 2026, Royal Mail data (c) Royal Mail copyright and database right 2026, National Statistics data (c) Crown copyright and database right 2026. No firm on this site is sponsored, ranked or endorsed, and nothing here implies SRA endorsement of this site.

Didn't find your answer?

Ask us. A real person reads every question and we answer the ones we can, with sources. If your question would help other readers, we may publish an anonymised version, with your permission. General reference, not legal advice.

Ask a question[email protected]

Updated 2026-07-13