SolicitorCost.com is an independent information resource. We are not a law firm and do not provide legal advice. Costs shown are indicative ranges. Always obtain a written quote.
Home/SRA-regulated firms/St. Helens/ST Helens Law Limited

Licensed body

ST Helens Law Limited

SRA number 439956 · Authorised since 15 July 2022

Head office 101 Mere Grange, Leaside, St Helens, WA9 5GG

Website sthelenslaw.co.uk · Phone 01744 385171 · Publishes prices: yes, read 7 October 2026

Published prices

Under the SRA Transparency Rules, firms offering residential conveyancing, probate and certain other services must publish their prices for that work. ST Helens Law Limited publishes these 35 prices on its own website. The figures below are copied as the firm prints them. For your own matter, ask the firm for a written quote that includes disbursements.

What the firm offers:Family law and family mediationDispute resolution and mediationResidential property sale and purchaseEquity releaseTransfer of equityRemortgagesBoundary disputesCommercial property sale and purchaseHousing disrepairWillsAdministration of estatesLasting powers of attorneyCourt of ProtectionInheritance tax planningContentious probatePersonal injuryClinical negligenceProfessional negligenceCommercial litigationDebt recoveryAs listed on the firm's own website, read 7 October 2026. The areas of law further down are what it reported to the SRA.

ServicePriceVAT
Wills - simple will[1]£180+ VAT
Wills - mirror simple wills[1]£300+ VAT
Wills - life interest trust, property trust or disability will[1]£450+ VAT
Wills - mirror will, life interest trust or property trust wills[1]£520+ VAT
Wills - mirror will, disabled trust wills[1]£675+ VAT
Probate - grant of probate, simple[1]£850+ VAT
Probate - grant of probate, paper application[1]£900+ VAT
Probate - grant of probate, IHT400 application[1]£1700+ VAT
Probate - full estate administration, hourly rate[1]£275 per hour+ VAT
Probate - supporting statement of truth[1]£50+ VAT
Probate - deed of renunciation[1]£300+ VAT
Lasting power of attorney - one individual power of attorney[1]£360+ VAT
Lasting power of attorney - two individual powers of attorney[1]£600+ VAT
Lasting power of attorney - mirror powers of attorney, one type[1]£750+ VAT
Lasting power of attorney - mirror powers of attorney, both types[1]£900+ VAT
Court of Protection - deputyship application (finance), solicitors fees[1]£1204+ VAT
Court of Protection - deputyship application (health and welfare), solicitors fees[1]£950+ VAT
Court of Protection - professional deputy, first year fees[1]£2116+ VAT
Court of Protection - professional deputy, subsequent years[1]£1672+ VAT
Court of Protection - professional deputy, annual management fee[1]
BandFeeVAT
If net assets of P < £20,3004.5% of assets+ VAT
ServicePriceVAT
Debt recovery - letter of claim and subsequent letters before proceedings, per letter[2]£100.00+ VAT
Debt recovery - drafting and issuing court proceedings, small claims up to £10,000.00[2]£250.00+ VAT
Debt recovery - fast track and multi track claims up to £100,000.00, hourly rate[2]£350.00 per hour+ VAT
Debt recovery - dealing with a defence, small claims up to £10,000.00[2]£100.00+ VAT
Debt recovery - representation at a court hearing, small claims up to £10,000.00[2]£350.00+ VAT
Debt recovery - obtaining judgment by default without a hearing[2]£50.00+ VAT
Probate - grant of probate only, fixed fee[2]£600.00+ VAT
Probate - full probate, hourly rate[2]£250.00 per hour+ VAT
Family law - change of name deeds[3]£150+ VAT
Family law - all other work, hourly rate ("pay as you go")[3]£400 per hourVAT not stated
Family law - divorce, normal cost (hourly basis)[3]£500 to £599VAT not stated
Residential conveyancing - selling, fee by sale price[4]
BandFeeVAT
Up to 150,000£715+ VAT
150,000 to 250,000£770+ VAT
250,000 to 350,000£825+ VAT
350,000 to 500,000£880+ VAT
500,000 to 750,000£990+ VAT
750,000 and over0.2% of sale price+ VAT
Residential conveyancing - purchasing, fee by purchase price[4]
BandFeeVAT
Up to 150,000£770+ VAT
150,000 to 250,000£880+ VAT
250,000 to 350,000£935+ VAT
350,000 to 500,000£990+ VAT
500,000 to 750,000£1100+ VAT
750,000 and over0.2% of purchase price+ VAT
ServicePriceVAT
Residential sale - fee from, smaller property[5]from £715+ VAT
Residential purchase - fee from, smaller property[5]from £770+ VAT

Read from a PDF whose table columns did not extract cleanly; check each figure against the firm's own document.

Some figures on the firm's page do not agree with each other; the table follows the page as printed.

From the firm's published price information at these pages, read 7 October 2026:

  1. [1]www.sthelenslaw.co.uk/services/wills-probate/fees
  2. [2]www.sthelenslaw.co.uk/transparency
  3. [3]www.sthelenslaw.co.uk/services/family-law
  4. [4]www.sthelenslaw.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/RESIDENTIAL-CONVEYANCING-PRICES-OCT-2025.pdf (PDF)
  5. [5]www.sthelenslaw.co.uk/services/property-residential

Key facts

Authorisation
Licensed body (ABS)
Organisation type
Licensed body (alternative business structure), authorised
Constitution
Incorporated company (limited by shares)
Practising offices
1
Areas of law reported to the SRA
7: Residential property, Litigation, Family, Personal Injury, Wills and trusts, Commercial property, Probate
Companies House status
Active (05629783, file 1 May 2026)
Incorporated
20 November 2005
Company type
Private Limited Company
Trading names
SHL Solicitors
SRA firms in St. Helens
18 (7 residential property)

Offices on the SRA record

OfficeAddressDistrictPhone
Head office101 Mere Grange, Leaside, St Helens, WA9 5GGDirectionsGoogle MapsApple MapsSt. Helens01744 385171
Registered office101 Mere Grange, Leaside, St Helens, WA9 5GGnot a practising office

Areas of law reported to the SRA

Residential propertyLitigationFamilyPersonal InjuryWills and trustsCommercial propertyProbate

Self-reported by the firm in its most recent annual return to the SRA ("the areas of law that the law firm has told us they delivered"). A lagging description of past work, not a live service list, a specialism claim or a quality mark; it may be up to a year old and is blank for newly authorised firms.

Conveyancing prices: published by the firm under SRA Transparency Rule 1

Because ST Helens Law Limited reports residential property work, it must publish its conveyancing price, charging basis, disbursements, VAT treatment and timescales on its website. This firm's published conveyancing prices are shown above, read 7 October 2026 from its website. Check the firm's own page at sthelenslaw.co.uk for any update before instructing it. Compare against the national average of £1,575 plus VAT and the disbursements you will pay on top.

Companies House record

ST HELENS LAW LIMITED, company number 05629783, private limited company, incorporated 20 November 2005. Status on the Companies House bulk file dated 1 May 2026: Active. Last accounts made up to 31 March 2025 (total exemption full). Registered office town: ST. HELENS. Full record on ukcompanyfinder.com.

The registered office town, ST. HELENS, differs from the practising head office town, St Helens.

Where the office is
Locator map showing ST Helens Law Limited at 101 Mere Grange, Leaside, St Helens, WA9 5GG and 5 nearby SRA-regulated officesSmooth Law Limited, St. HelensHogans Solicitors Limited, PrescotPreston & Co Law Firm Limited, MerseysideSteven N Crook Limited, St. HelensST Helens Law Limited, St Helens

ST Helens Law Limited in gold at St Helens WA9 5GG, and the 5 nearest SRA-regulated firms in slate.

Outline: St. Helens district outline (ONS E08000013).

Map tiles: OpenFreeMap, © OpenMapTiles, data from OpenStreetMap contributors. Source: Office for National Statistics licensed under the Open Government Licence v.3.0. Contains OS data © Crown copyright and database right 2026.

Nearest SRA-regulated firms

Hover a firm to find it on the map above. Distances are straight line from head office to head office.

Verify on the SRA register ->Verify your listingFirms: email us corrections and we update the page from the SRA record and your own site.
All firms in St. HelensSRA-regulated firms by townTransparency Rules explained

solicitorcost.com includes data supplied by the Solicitors Regulation Authority.

Source: SRA Firm data web service (terms 1 July 2020, attribution required); firm status, offices and areas of law as reported by the SRA on 6 October 2026. Areas of law are self-reported by each firm in its annual return and describe work it told the SRA it delivered, not a live service menu or a quality mark. Companies House fields from the Basic Company Data bulk file dated 1 May 2026. Geocoding by postcodes.io: contains OS data (c) Crown copyright and database right 2026, Royal Mail data (c) Royal Mail copyright and database right 2026, National Statistics data (c) Crown copyright and database right 2026. No firm on this site is sponsored, ranked or endorsed, and nothing here implies SRA endorsement of this site.

Didn't find your answer?

Ask us. A real person reads every question and we answer the ones we can, with sources. If your question would help other readers, we may publish an anonymised version, with your permission. General reference, not legal advice.

Ask a question[email protected]

Updated 2026-07-13